A Campus of the California State University

CSUM

Web Content Display Web Content Display
Minimize

Faculty Calendar

Fall Semester 2013

Monday, August 19                 First faculty work day

Tuesday, August 20                New Faculty Orientation, 8:30-3:00, TEC 102

Wednesday, August 21           All-Faculty Meeting, 8:30-4:00, DoubleTree by Hilton, American Canyon

Thursday, August 22               All Hands Meeting, 10:30-12:00, In Rizza Auditorium

                                             Teaching and Learning Workshop, 12:30-2:00, Lab 114 

                                             Department Meetings, 1:00-5:00,TBD

Friday, August 23                   Teaching and Learning Workshop, 8:30-4:00, TEC 102

                                             Freshmen Orientation begins                             

Monday, August 26                 Summer Reading Presentation

                                             Departments meet with their freshmen

Tuesday, August 27                Summer Reading Discussions

Wednesday, August 28           Freshmen last formation ceremony, 11:00-1:00 - faculty and staff invited

Thursday, August 29               First day of instruction

Monday, September 2             Labor Day Holiday

Friday, September 6                Dinner/Dance - All faculty, staff, spouses or significant others
                                                                     Dan Foley Community Center, 5:30-11:30

Tuesday, September 17           RTP workshop for Senate RTP Committee and Department RTP Committees

Friday, October 4                     Sabbatical Leave applications for AY 2014-2015 due to the Chair of
                                              Professional Leave Committee

Monday, October 7                 WPAF Closing date, due to WPAF Coordinator at 4:00 PM

Friday, November 1                   Dept Chairs and Dept RTP Committee recommendations for RTP candidates due

Mon-Fri, Oct. 21 - Nov. 1           Academic Advising

Mon-Fri, Nov. 4 - 15                  Registration for Spring Semester 2014

Monday, November 11               Veteran's Day Holiday

Thurs-Fri, Nov. 28 - 29               Thanksgiving Holiday

Friday, December 6                   Academic Dean, Dean of the Library, and Senate RTP Committee recommendations
                                               for RTP candidates due

Friday, December 13                 Last day of classes

Mon-Thurs, Dec. 16 - 19            Final Exam Period

Monday, December 23              Deadline for faculty to enter grades into PeopleSoft

Wed-Wed, Dec. 25 - Jan. 1       Winter Recess

                Happy New Year 2014

Spring Semester 2014

Thurs-Fri, Jan. 2-3                     Faculty work days

January TBD                             U.S. Coast Guard Exams

Monday, January 6                    First day of instruction

Friday, January 17                     Last day to add a class and last day to drop a class with no grade recorded

                                               Provost/VPAA recommendations for RTP candidates due

Monday, January 20                  Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday

Friday, February 14                   President's retention decision for RTP candidates who have served fewer
                                               than two years of probation are due

Mon-Fri, March 10-21                Advisement for Fall

Mon-Fri, March 24-April 4           Registration for Fall

Monday, March 31                     Cesar Chavez Holiday

Tuesday, April 1                         Spring Pause Day, non-instructional faculty work day

Friday, April 18                           Last day of instruction

Mon-Thurs, April 21-24                Final Exams

Friday, April 25                           First cruise begins, deadline for faculty to enter grades in Peoplesoft

Saturday, April 26                       Commencement

Friday, May 30                           President's retention decisions for RTP candidates who have served two or more
                                                 two years of probation and candidates for tenure are due

Friday, June 13                           President's promotion decisions for RTP candidates are due

Wednesday, June 25                   First cruise ends, Second cruise begins

Monday, August 18                     2014-2015 Academic Year begins, first faculty work day

Monday, August 25                     Second cruise ends

Tuesday, September 2                 First day of instruction